Posted by: writingwitch2013 | December 2, 2014

A popular theme: Writers Block?

image

What is writers block.

Some novelists say there is no such thing. That if you are a ‘proper’ writer, you will be able to write your way out of a ‘blip’ either by by-passing it and going back to it later, or jumping on to writing something else. Therefore it isn’t a block at all, just a natural part of the writing process.

No matter how you look at it, we all, at some point, come across a block in the thought process that links brain to pen where the novel/story is concerned. It may be a small interlude or it may last for days or even weeks,

Each writer deals with it differently . Some move on to free writing, blogging, other projects. Some despair, let it get them down, berate themselves, shut themselves away. Others talk about it, go out for a change of scenery, meet friends, do things they have put off while writing. I wait, and often wait some more, and more…….

I have writers block quite a bit. I can be writing and know the plot etc then the next day … Nothing.. Not even recalling the plot or where my idea threads were going, despite having written them down. Re-reading plot notes doesn’t jog the memory and spur me on either, it’s as if the idea had never been born. I know what it is now, and although I don’t fret over the ‘block’ I do however feel useless as a writer and useless generally. Fibromyalgia ‘fogs’ the brain. when Fog strikes I can’t think of the simplest of words, remember the simplest of home tasks, or form any sort of coherent thought. I have learnt to step back and wait for it to pass. It is so frustrating , it can be gone within hours or linger for days. I pray it never appears if I ever have an editors deadline.

Several things can be blamed for writers block.
Wendy Clarke, author of ‘Room in Your Heart’ in her blog post at http://wendyswritingnow.blogspot.co.uk/2014/12/how-i-coped-with-writers-block.html?m=0
mentions five causes including, pressure of producing good and regular work and distractions.

This year I had a short story published and can relate to the cause ‘ pressure to produce similarly good work’ and also ‘ distractions’ It has been a mixed bag of a year with illness, both mine and my husbands, family celebrations, family buying, moving and setting up a house and planning a wedding, and husband having a promise of redundancy rescinded after our making plans over the 4 months since the promise and then having them dashed. All excuses but the stress has been real, and stress agrivates Fibromyalgia, so the fog has been worse than ever this year.

What am I going to do about it?

I managed to finish Nanowrimo, an achievement considering my year, but not a complete, or even half a novel to show for it, and it bothered me that I only pulled out the stops to write in one month of this year.

After analysing the why’s and wherefore’s, I am spending this week reorganising my writing room. I have made some moves towards changing the way I work, and as in Feng Shui I have altered the direction I work in. Hung mobiles in doorways/windows to halt the rush of ideas trying to escape the room, and filled a pot (well a cauldron actually) with slips on which are written vague ideas and prompts. The idea being that when stuck on a current project I can pull out of the pot a slip of paper and try some free writing, plotting, or actually write a story based on the suggestion. So instead of just standing up and walking out, after looking at a blank screen for ages, I will now write a few words, or more, on my pot luck slip before leaving the room, so that way I leave on a positive note.

image
 

Responses

  1. I hope that sorting and clearing your writing room helps to clear your writing mind too, Awen. The good thing is, we both know there is no point in fighting the dreaded block because it does go away eventually.

    • That is true.. And we will not let it defeat us! I have also set up my easel and paints in the room so should I still feel creative and the words don’t satisfy I can practice my painting. Win/win xx

  2. I love the idea of just scribbling a few words before walking away. I often walk upto or sit at my laptop and write nothing. Now I will have a notebook forever open and will write something each time I pass it, even if it is only a few words or maybe even a sentance! Hugs to you. X

    • Thanks for the hugs 🙂 Hubby brought a moleskin notebook home from a meeting he was at yesterday. He gave it to me, and I shall use it for my musings during ‘block’. I shall call it my little black book…

  3. I feel your brain fog pain. I have rheumatoid arthritis and Sjogren’s Syndrome, plus psoriasis. My brain gets foggier than London! 🙂 These AI diseases are a pain in the brain!

    I read a tip somewhere that when you’re having a great day writing to take time at the end of your session to write down your ideas of where you’re going next with the story. That way when you come back you know where you’re going and have a bit of a start to grease the wheels. I haven’t tried it, but it sounds reasonable. But it all depends on how you’re feeling.

    I’ve heard people say there’s no such thing as writer’s block, too. Writers are like snowflakes – each one different. And I assume people who say such things are fairly healthy.

    I’m going to try 100k, too. “Try” being the operative word.

    Good luck, Awen!

    Sara Hayden (from Nano Kent)

    • Good luck with your writing and 100k Sara. All writers are different, well it wouldn’t do for us all to be the same… so boring! Like Nano, I think 100k is a good practice of writing something each day, even if you don’t have 100k at the end of it. I know some people don’t like these challenges, but on days when I really don’t feel like moving, let alone writing, the writing challenges give me a nudge to at least write a few words. I feel for you with your ‘fog’ and pain. Take care.


Leave a Reply

Categories

